HK Students win 1-st runner up award in ASME SDC Finals


ASME Fellow Public Lecture

Topic: Technology & Sustainability

Speaker: Prof. Timothy W. Tong, President of HK Polytechnic University

Date: July 16. 2015

Time: 19:00 to 20:30

Venue: Lecture Theater Y302, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Free Admission

Election Result Announcement - Section Officers for Sessions 2015/2016

Dear ASME-HK Members,

As Chair of ASME Hong Kong Section, I am pleased to announce the results of the election of Section Officers for Sessions 2015/2016. The New Elected Section Officers are:

Section Chair            Ir. Prof. Ronald Chung

Section Vice Chair    Ir. Thomas Cheong

Section Treasurer    Ir. Leo Chan

Section Secretary    Miss Kitty K.Y. Leung

Thanks for all members who casted their votes!


Chris Cheung

Section Chair

The Hong Kong Section of ASME International

Nominations to the Section Office for the year 2015-2016:

For Section Chair Ir. Prof Ronald Chung
For Section Vice Chair Ir. Thomas Cheong
For Section Treasurer Ir. Leo Chan
For Section Secretary Miss Kitty K. Y. Leung


Photos click the link below:

Young Inventor Competition 2014-Event Photos

ASME Members in Hong Kong Excel in International Engineering Design Contest

We are happy to announce that three Mechanical Engineering students from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University had competed at the final round of the Student Design Competition organized by ASME. The competition involved to design, build and run a vehicle which can examine a radioactively-contaminated area within one minute. Amidst the heat of the competition, the team had won First Place in video submission.

Led by Academic Supervisor Ir. Lo Kok-keung, the team of three completed the design and prototype in three months. The team leader was Miss Ng Kar-yee, with team members Mr. Mak Tsz-kin and Mr. Ng Tin-long. The vehicle features highly sensitive and accurate camera which would allow the vehicle to accomplish tasks quickly. Through ingenious creativity and dedication, the team had won First Place in video submission. With this success, the Hong Kong Section team earned their place to compete this event for eleventh consecutive years.

The competition was held on 17 November 2013 in San Diego, California, USA. The Hong Kong Section team was to compete against 20 teams from universities around the world.